7 Yogic Chakras To Boost Your Emotional Health

Yogic Chakras can affect you balances your emotions in a positive way. Know about these 7 chakras and their benefits.

Puru Bansal
Written by: Puru BansalPublished at: Jul 11, 2021Updated at: Jul 11, 2021
7 Yogic Chakras To Boost Your Emotional Health

In Sanskrit, there has been always a mention of yogic chakras in our body that stimulates energy in different body functions. Chakras or disk are like an imaginary spinning wheels of energy that correspond to nerve bundles and major organs. There are 7 main chakras in our body according to yogic scripts, evidence of which has also been proved by US National Library of Medicine. These chakras keep our emotional and physical systems balanced which regulates energy in different parts of our body. 


Sometimes when you feel trapped or your anxiety or fear taking over you, it is believed that any one of your chakras may have become blocked for the movement. A survey by Department of Clinical Psychology, Nungln University in South Korea suggested that elevating these chakras through meditation gave boost in energy levels of people and made them emotionally stronger. Today let us understand function of these chakras and their effect on our emotional health. 

How do Chakras Affect Emotional Health?

Different Chakras respond differently to emotional state of the person. It has different relationships that are related to anxiety, fear, anger etc. For this we will take a look at these chakras one by one.

1. Root Chakra

It is believed to be the main foundation of all the energy centres in the body. Root chakra ensures perfect balance is maintained in the body. It also blocks all the negative energies which may affect a person’s physical or mental state. This chakra is represented in red that symbolised fight back response. If root chakra gets blocked, you may have difficulty in accessing feeling like balance peace and security. It is located in the base of your spine and is responsible to provide stability, strength and security. 


2. Sacral Chakra

If this chakra is blocked, you may find it tough to feel pleasure or balance in relationship. Sacral Chakra is attached to emotions and relationship balance. It gives a wide insight about how you behave with your family, partner or people around you. This chakra gives you a sense of control over your extreme emotions and behaviour towards people around you. If sacral chakra gets blocked then you may feel anxiety, numbness, isolation and loneliness. It is located at centre of pelvis or sacrum. Sacral chakra is associated with-

  • Creation
  • Emotions
  • Inspiration
  • Imagination 
  • Joy

Also Read- 7 Ways To Boost Natural Defences For A Strong Immune System 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is placed at lower abdomen or just above the navel. When you sit in the mediation position, it becomes the centre of your body. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked that means your body will have serious imbalance issues. You can become jealous, possessive, anxiousness and doubt full. This chakra maintains balance of most of your emotional state and keeps you open to feedback and blocks the negative emotions such as self-doubt, low self-esteem, over defensive, sense of failure or highly reactive to certain other emotions. Solar plexus chakra boosts confidence and gives power to positive response in our body.


4. Heart Chakra

This chakra is responsible for feelings attached to love and affection. It stimulates the ability to give or receive unconditional love to each other. According to study, if you are struggling to feel connected with the world or people around you, then you should consider meditating for heart chakra. If your heart chakra is not open or unbalanced, it can lead to disbelief and doubt-full character which will lead to very unstable relationships. This may also lead to anxiety and self-worth issues which might make you very defensive and stressed out. Its location is right at the centre of the chest. It also responds to-

  • Self-acceptance
  • Unconditional love
  • Connection
  • Healthy relationships
  • Self-esteem

5. Throat Chakra

This is linked towards the communication and expression skills. Stimulating this chakra boosts your confidence while speaking, it governs your mouth, tongue and throat as well. Having blockage in any this chakra may lead to anxiety and insecurity. Throat chakra makes you confident about expressing your emotions in public. This can escalate your self-confidence and remove sense of worry and anxiety. It is located at the centre of the neck and involves the following actions-

  • Self-expression
  • Sharing thoughts
  • Communication
  • Functions involving mouth, tongue and throat


6. Crown Chakra

This chakra is most difficult to achieve and meditate on among all the yogic chakras. Crown chakra gives you the strength and motivation to overcome every hardship and challenges in life. It is located on top of your skull and makes you understand different reasons or your hard work and creates divine energy. This chakra boosts your trust on self and takes you towards stable emotional state. However blockage of this chakra may affect your self-belief and you may have feeling of personal attacks along with anxiety and fear.

Also Read- How Bird Watching Can Boost Your Mental Health

7. Third-eye Chakra

According to the study of US National Library of Medicine, third eye chakra is most beneficial in reducing and controlling anxiety issues in the body. Third-eye chakra gives the person foresight of what are the probable options and makes him prepared to overcome his problems. If this is not balances then you can have anxiety issues, stress and even go into depression. This chakra ensures perseverance of bigger picture and removes self-doubt, instinctive fear and anxiety related negative emotions. It is placed right in the centre of forehead between the eyes.

It also helps in the following-

  • Imagination
  • Intuition
  • Spiritual clarity
  • Mind and body connection

Read More Articles on Mind and Body