What is the treatment of Non Small Cell Lung Cancer?

By  ,  National Institute of Health
Jan 05, 2013

Subscribe for daily wellness inspiration

Like onlymyhealth on Facebook!

Nine types of standard treatment are used:



Four types of surgery are used:


Wedge resection

Surgery to remove a tumor and some of the normal tissue around it. When a slightly larger amount of tissue is taken, it is called a segmental resection.

Wedge resection of the lung. Part of the lung lobe containing the cancer and a small amount of healthy tissue around it is removed.



Surgery to remove a whole lobe (section) of the lung.

Lobectomy: A lobe of the lung is removed.



Surgery to remove one whole lung.

                                 Source: www.cancer.gov


Pneumonectomy. The whole lung is removed.


Sleeve resection

Surgery to remove part of the bronchus.


Even if the doctor removes all the cancer that can be seen at the time of the surgery, some patients may be given chemotherapy or radiation therapy after surgery to kill any cancer cells that are left. Treatment given after the surgery, to lower the risk that the cancer will come back, is called adjuvant therapy.

Radiation therapy


Radiation therapy is a cancer treatment that uses high-energy x-rays or other types of radiation to kill cancer cells or keep them from growing. There are two types of radiation therapy. External radiation therapy uses a machine outside the body to send radiation toward the cancer. Internal radiation therapy uses a radioactive substance sealed in needles, seeds, wires, or catheters that are placed directly into or near the cancer.


Radiosurgery is a method of delivering radiation dir...

Write Comment Read ReviewDisclaimer
Is it Helpful Article?YES11196 Views 0 Comment