Basics of Ayurveda

By  ,  Onlymyhealth editorial team
May 30, 2011

Ayurveda has eight divisions of Ayurvedic therapeutics. These are namely Kayachikitsa (Internal medicine), Shalya (Surgery), Shalkya (Otorhinolaryngology and Opthalmology), Kaumr Bhritya (Pediatrics, Gynecology and Obstetrics) Agad tantra (Toxicology), Rasayana (Gerentorology), Vajikaran (Aphrodisiacs) and Bhoot Vidya (Psychiatry). Ayurvedic treatment aims to eliminate impurities, alleviate symptoms, enhance resistance to disease, and decrease worry and boost harmony in the patient's life. Ayurveda uses herbal remedies, diet modification, massage, and meditation for treatment of various ailments.


Ayurveda is a holistic, curative and preventative system of health. It has several physical and psychological benefits. It is not only treatment it is a way of life that promotes happy, healthy disease free long life. Ayurvedic methods of detoxification like panchakarma and other herbal health remedies, make the body more receptive to medicines and treatment, and hasten the healing process. The yogasanas recommended by ayurveda helps to strengthen the body and prevents the diseases from occurring and escalating.



Related Articles

Is it Helpful Article?YES1 Vote 13366 Views 1 Comment
I have read the Privacy Policy and the Terms and Conditions. I provide my consent for my data to be processed for the purposes as described and receive communications for service related information.
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK