What is Kamasutra?

By  ,  Onlymyhealth editorial team
Nov 27, 2012

What is KamasutraKamasutra is an ancient Indian text renowned more for the practical advice it gives on sexual intercourse (which is just a part of it). The words “kama” and “sutra” have definite meanings. Kama means desire in the general sense but particularly sexual desire. Sutra literally means thread but it is implied in the sense of a thread to hold a line going in a direction. In Sanskrit it refers to a set of aphorisms or verses that form a manual.

[Read: Kamasutra Sex Positions]

The Kamasutra is not exclusively on sex as popularly believed. It is a guide book or art of leading a virtuously which touches upon many aspects of social and individual life such as nature of love, family life and pleasure oriented activities with much needed restraint.

With 1250 verses divided in 36 chapters organized into 7 parts, it offers an excellent commentary on various aspects of a householder’s life in providing better sex life and may helps in solving sexual problems.


Part 1

The first part deals with goals and priorities of life, how to acquire knowledge, dealings of well-bred citizen, suggestions for the intermediaries who hep in lover’s enterprises.


[Read: Love Teachings of Kamasutra]


Part 2

Deals with stimulation of desire, kinds of embraces, kissing and caressing, amorous marking with nails, amorous biting acts and making a mark with teeth, positions of copulation, slapping followed by moaning, virile behaviour in women, better coition, precursors and conclusions of the art of love making. 64 types of sexual acts are described in it. Kamasutra has become notorious for this part of the book.


Part 3

Deals with types of marriage, making the girl feel relaxed, getting the girl, surviving alone, union by marriage.


Part 4

Deals with conduct of the only wife and in case there are more than one, the conduct of chief wife and other wives.


[Read:Kamasutra Sex Positions for Healthy Sex Life]

Part 5

Deals with behaviour of women and men, how to get to know each other, evaluation of sentiments, the task of go-between, the king's pleasures, behavior in the women's quarters (6 chapters).


Part 6

Deals with advice of the amorous assistants on making a choice of lovers, finding a steady lover, how to earn money, making up with a former lover and renewing friendship, occasional profits, profits and losses.


Part 7

Deals with improvement of physical attractions and stirring up a damaged sexual power.

Read more articles on Sex & Relationships.


Is it Helpful Article?YES29 Votes 64174 Views 2 Comments
I have read the Privacy Policy and the Terms and Conditions. I provide my consent for my data to be processed for the purposes as described and receive communications for service related information.
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK