Foods to Avoid with Celiac Disease

By:Meenakshi Chaudhary, Onlymyhealth Editorial Team,Date:Aug 07, 2013
In celiac disease, a person has an inflammatory response in the small intestine while consuming even a minute amount of foods containing gluten. Therefore, here is the list of the foods that should be avoided with Celiac disease.
  • 1

    Wheat, Rye, Barley

    Foods made up of wheat, barley and rye should clearly be avoided while on a celiac diet. Foods which are made with white flour or graham flour should also be avoided. The Canadian Celiac Association also encourages celiacs to carefully read the labels as many alternative flours may be blended with wheat and barley starch that could trigger a celiac reaction.

    Wheat, Rye, Barley
  • 2

    Processed Foods

    Processed foods that may contain wheat or barley, or rye, are a no-go option. Always look for hydrolyzed wheat protein and hydrolyzed vegetable protein on the label as these ingredients may contain lot of gluten.

     Processed Foods
  • 3

    Beverages like Beer

    Depending upon the core ingredient present in the drink, most of the beverages come under celiac foods to avoid. Amongst all, beer is the most obvious drink to avoid as it contains wheat, barley and rye.

    Beverages like Beer
  • 4

    Any Food Product Containing Wheat

    Do not eat any foods like bread, crackers, malted breakfast cereals, pasta, and pizza that contain wheat or wheat products as it will contain high quantity of gluten. Though it's not easy, but you can still manage to stay on a gluten free diet.

    Any Food Product Containing Wheat
Load More
  • All
  • Article
  • Slideshow
  • Video
  • QnA
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK