Foods to Avoid with Celiac Disease
In celiac disease, a person has an inflammatory response in the small intestine while consuming even a minute amount of foods containing gluten. Therefore, here is the list of the foods that should be avoided with Celiac disease.
Wheat, Rye, Barley
Foods made up of wheat, barley and rye should clearly be avoided while on a celiac diet. Foods which are made with white flour or graham flour should also be avoided. The Canadian Celiac Association also encourages celiacs to carefully read the labels as many alternative flours may be blended with wheat and barley starch that could trigger a celiac reaction.
Processed foods that may contain wheat or barley, or rye, are a no-go option. Always look for hydrolyzed wheat protein and hydrolyzed vegetable protein on the label as these ingredients may contain lot of gluten.
Beverages like Beer
Depending upon the core ingredient present in the drink, most of the beverages come under celiac foods to avoid. Amongst all, beer is the most obvious drink to avoid as it contains wheat, barley and rye.
Any Food Product Containing Wheat
Do not eat any foods like bread, crackers, malted breakfast cereals, pasta, and pizza that contain wheat or wheat products as it will contain high quantity of gluten. Though it's not easy, but you can still manage to stay on a gluten free diet.
All possible measures have been taken to ensure accuracy, reliability, timeliness and authenticity of the information; however Onlymyhealth.com does not take any liability for the same. Using any information provided by the website is solely at the viewers’ discretion. In case of any medical exigencies/ persistent health issues, we advise you to seek a qualified medical practitioner before putting to use any advice/tips given by our team or any third party in form of answers/comments on the above mentioned website.