What are the different types of Von Willebrand Disease?

By  ,  Onlymyhealth editorial team
Jan 16, 2013

Subscribe for daily wellness inspiration

Like onlymyhealth on Facebook!

Quick Bites

  • It is a medical condition that can lead to excessive bleeding.
  • It is almost always inherited.
  • VWD is the most common of all the inherited bleeding disorders.
  • There are three major types of VWD.

Von Willebrand refers to a medical condition that can lead to extended or excessive bleeding. The condition is often inherited, though in rare cases, it can develop later in life as well.


von willebrand disease types


The cause of the condition is said to be a deficiency in or the impairment of a protein called von Willebrand. People with this disease take longer to form clots and stop bleeding when they have been cut. There are three major types of VWD.


Type 1

In type 1 VWD, you have a low level of von Willebrand factor, and you may have lower than normal levels of factor VIII. This is the mildest and most common form of VWD. About 3 out of 4 people who have VWD have type 1.


Type 2

In type 2 VWD, the von Willebrand factor doesn't work the way it should. Type 2 is divided into subtypes: 2A, 2B, 2M, and 2N. Different gene mutations (changes) cause each type, and each is treated differently. So it's important to know the exact type of VWD that you have.

Type 3

In type 3 VWD, you usually have no von Willebrand factor and low levels of factor VIII. Type 3 is the most serious form of VWD, but it's very rare.



(Image source:Gettyimages.in)

Read more articles on Von Willebrand disease.

Write a Review Feedback
Is it Helpful Article?YES10827 Views 0 Comment
Post a Comment

Though all possible measures have been taken to ensure accuracy, reliability, timeliness and authenticity of the information; Onlymyhealth assumes no liability for the same. Using any information of this website is at the viewers’ risk. Please be informed that we are not responsible for advice/tips given by any third party in form of comments on article pages . If you have or suspect having any medical condition, kindly contact your professional health care provider.

  • All
  • Article
  • Slideshow
  • Video