Cancer Ribbons and their Significance

By:Himanshu Sharma, Onlymyhealth Editorial Team,Date:Oct 15, 2012

Subscribe for daily wellness inspiration

Like onlymyhealth on Facebook!

Cancer awareness ribbons of various shades and colours are a symbol of support for cancer community (survivors and patients). The cancer ribbons are intended to draw attention to those who are affected and spread awareness about the disease.
  • 1

    Pink Ribbon

    Pink ribbon is the most easily recognisable ribbon among all cancer-awareness ribbons. Wearing a pink ribbon means that you are representing breast cancer patients who are battling the disease and urging others to join their fight against cancer.

  • 2

    Yellow Ribbon

    Yellow colour, which is a symbol of hope, is associated with bladder and liver cancer. Generally, the yellow ribbon is symbolic of suicide awareness and endometriosis awareness.

  • 3

    Black Ribbon

    Black ribbon represents support for melanoma or skin cancer. A black ribbon is worn to spread awareness about skin cancer, encourage people to avail regular screening and support patients in their fight against cancer.

  • 4

    Purple Ribbon

    Purple ribbon is indicative of supporting the cause of pancreatic cancer, thyroid and testicular cancer patients. It is a medium to bring attention to the issues of patients suffering from these cancer forms.

  • 5

    Teal Ribbon

    The teal ribbon signifies support for polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and ovarian cancer. Just by wearing a teal ribbon, you are reminding people about the cause to fight ovarian cancer.

  • 6

    Burgundy Ribbon

    Wearing a burgundy ribbon represents support for multiple myeloma or bone marrow cancer patients. The idea of wearing a burgundy ribbon is to draw attention to health issues of the patients and informing people about the need for early intervention and treatment options available.

  • 7

    Green Ribbon

    Green ribbon, a symbol of kidney cancer and liver cancer, is worn as an effort to raise awareness about the disease.

  • 8

    Grey Ribbon

    A grey ribbon symbolises brain cancer and is worn to promote brain cancer awareness.

  • 9

    White Ribbon

    Wearing a white ribbon means that you are supporting lung cancer patients in their cause and spreading awareness about the disease.

  • 10

    Blue Ribbon

    The blue cancer ribbon is symbolic of colon and colorectal cancer. Light blue ribbons represent support for prostate cancer. Wearing a blue ribbon means that you are supporting patients in their battle with cancer.

Related Slideshows
    Post Comment
    Post Your comment
    Disclaimer +
    Though all possible measures have been taken to ensure accuracy, reliability, timeliness and authenticity of the information; Onlymyhealth assumes no liability for the same. Using any information of this website is at the viewers’ risk. Please be informed that we are not responsible for advice/tips given by any third party in form of comments on article pages . If you have or suspect having any medical condition, kindly contact your professional health care provider.